Bach on bass ...

Last updated on 15 years ago
Silent FlySilent Fly
Posted 15 years ago
Fast player but a little bit "cold" for my taste. I like the tone though. I prefer John Patitucci's version of the same composition.

I studied the Bach Cello Suite 1 o my 6 strings and it is great number for developing hands coordination and intervals recognition. ...and it is of course a beautiful piece of music.
sfx sound - High Performance Audio
Edited by Silent Fly on 14-02-2009 09:24, 15 years ago
Silent FlySilent Fly
Posted 15 years ago

OutToPlayJazz wrote:[...]
So unfortunately, there are some narrow minded d*******s around who think the universe ends with a Precision bass, 20 year old dirty strings & a plectrum. Sad, huh?[...]

I am not among the people that think that civilization stopped with the Precision bass but I respect musicians that think that a Precision bass is all they need.

A few years ago a saw Pino Palladino playing in a small club. He played the entire gig with an old Precision with flatwound strings connected straight to a small amplifier.

After Jaco Pastorius, it was the most inspiring bass performance I ever seen. The rhythmic was so tight you could build a house on it. His choice of note was superb and the tone was perfect.

I like to judge musicians from what they tell me. Basses are a tool. If bassist touches my heart with a Precision with old strings and plectrum I feel he deserves my deepest respect.
sfx sound - High Performance Audio
Edited by Silent Fly on 14-02-2009 09:25, 15 years ago
youngjr1youngjr1
Veteran Member
Posted 15 years ago

Silent Fly wrote:
Fast player but not a little bit "cold" for my taste. I like the tone though. I prefer John Patitucci's version of the same composition.

I studied the Bach Cello Suite 1 o my 6 strings and it is great number for developing hands coordination and intervals recognition. ...and it is of course a beautiful piece of music.