Thread subject: STATII.COM: For all things Status-Graphite :: Hi from Australia

Posted by Paisley on 14-06-2020 14:17

Hey everyone, Status newbie here! Smile I recently picked up a Shark 5 String. Great little Bass; I was after a passive 5 String for recording (all my 5 Strings are active) & it came up for a good price, so I grabbed it. It was originally going to be purely for recording; however after doing a bit of a setup on it it's fast becoming one of my favourite Basses, so I'm going to look at gigging it a bit (once we actually get back to gigging that is....). Grin Has a few chips & nicks, & the pickguard looks like it's not only warped but shrunk as well, but it sounds & plays really nice. Just out of curiosity does anyone know how to decode the four digit serial numbers? From what I've read I'm pretty sure mine's a mid-90's model (tort pickguard with the single chrome pickup in the P bass position), but it'd be nice to know for sure. Cheers all. Smile

Edited by Paisley on 15-06-2020 00:55

Posted by moo on 15-06-2020 18:46

Welcome! Not even Rob understands the Serial Numbers he used!!! Grin Glad you're loving your Status. They are superb basses. If you have a look at 'The Database' you might be able to find another one similar to yours which might give clues to the age!

Posted by Paisley on 15-06-2020 19:30

moo wrote: Welcome! Not even Rob understands the Serial Numbers he used!!! Grin Glad you're loving your Status. They are superb basses. If you have a look at 'The Database' you might be able to find another one similar to yours which might give clues to the age!