Kingbass dilemma..your experiences!

Last updated on 16 years ago
G
gibbs
Posted 16 years ago
Hi All - I'm a newbie to this forum and seeking some advice from all your experiences here..

I have finally taken the plunge and decided to order myself a Kingbass (my excuse being mid life crisis purchase...!). I visited Rob & Dawn at the Status workshop this week to try a few things out ... and here is the dilemma. I'm torn between short/long scale and the narrower string spacing.

All my basses to date have bee 34" scale and I was pleasantly suprised by the 32/16.5 combination though I'm not sure longer term if I'd find any limitations (on playing style/development etc.)

Do any of you seasoned players have any thoughts on pros/cons of the shorter scale and or the narrower string spacing or is it just personal preference. My concerns are really over getting my fat fingers between the strings..!
statusstatus
Fusioneer
Posted 16 years ago
Hi and welcome aboard.

Not a Kingbass owner so I'll leave it to others to answer your query.
franfran
Posted 16 years ago
i bought my kingbass 32/16.5 a year ago for the same excuse :D
B
BigRedDog73
Posted 16 years ago
Hi

My KB is the first short scale bass i've owned (32/16.5), and i have to say it felt very natural straight away. To be honest i didn't over analyse when i bought it and it now just feels....erm....normal!

Cheers

Graeme

MattheusMattheus
Posted 16 years ago
To be correct; The Kingbass is not a short scale bass.... Short scale is 30....(something)
Many, many, many years ago I switched to medium scaled basses and I will never look back hahahaha (Nice title for a song..)
B
BigRedDog73
Posted 16 years ago

Mattheus wrote:
To be correct; The Kingbass is not a short scale bass.... Short scale is 30....(something)
Many, many, many years ago I switched to medium scaled basses and I will never look back hahahaha (Nice title for a song..)

Apologies....
iAppleiApple
Posted 16 years ago